Filipinas Heritage Library                LibraryLink                Retrato                Himig                Trade Roots                Libros Filipinos

The Summer Solstice and Other Stories

By Nick Joaquin

Stories in this volume:
•    Mass of St. Sylvestre
•    The Summer Solstice
•    The Order of Melkizedek

Nick Joaquin, novelist, playwright, poet, journalist, and biographer, has been the recipient of almost all of the prestigious awards in literature and the arts, including the National Artist Award for Literature, the highest national recognition given to Filipino artists who have made significant contributions to the development of Philippine arts and to the cultural heritage of the country.

Widely regarded as the greatest Filipino writer of the 20th century, he was also conferred, among other recognitions, the Republic Cultural Heritage Award for Literature in 1961, the Journalist of the Year Award in the early 1960s, the Book of the Year Award in 1979 for his Almanac for Manileños, the National Book Award for several of his works, the Ramon Magsaysay Award for Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts (the Asian counterpart of the Nobel Prize) in 1996, and the Tanglaw ng Lahi Award in 1997.

Product Details:
Format: Softbound
Publisher: Anvil Publishing, Inc.
Year Published: 2011